PC Specs

Thursday, February 10th, 2011

UPDATED FED 10, 2017

2059009-a

  • Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake 4.0GHz CPU
    BeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 3 CPU Cooler
  • 64GB (4x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3000 SDRAM
  • 6GB EVGA GeForce GTX980 Ti Superclocked+ ACX2+ Video Card
  • Gigabyte G1 GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 r1.0 ATX Motherboard
  • 512GB Samsung 950 PRO M.2 SSD
  • 2TB Seagate ST2000DX001 Solid State Hybrid Drive
  • 18TB (6+12TB) HGST Deskstar NAS and WD Red HDDs
  • EVGA 220-PS-1000-V1 80 PLUS Platinum 1000W PSU
  • Fractal Design Define XL R2 ATX Full Tower Case
  • Microsoft Windows 7/10 Pro 64-bit

These specs are what my current main PC consists of.

66 comments on “PC Specs

  1. Chris says:

    AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
    Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler
    Palit GeForce GTX 580 1.5GB
    Asus M4N98TD EVO NF w/ nForce 980a SLI Chipset
    OCZ Platinum DDR3 1333MHz 4GB
    250GB Maxtor HDD (OS) 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 (Storage)
    OCZ Fatal1ty 750w Modular PSU
    Cooler Master HAF 922 Mid-Tower Case
    Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit

    I think I beat you on the GPU front. 😛

  2. TheManko says:

    Since you got a decent machine, why didn’t you buy Test Drive Unlimited 2 on pc? That would solve any of the online problems with not having a gold account. In my case I use the pc so much that I’ve made it pretty comfortable with the chair, good audio and I’m using a 42′ LCD tv mostly when I play games on it. Since it’s possible to have a pc environment which kills any argument about console games being more comfortable I’m just curious why you went with the 360 version in this case since the pc version would allow you to use the 360 controller or any racing wheel you got and probably give you better graphics.

    • This was a big debate with myself. I went with the 360 version for a few personal reasons. One, I’m a sucker for achievements. Sad, but true. Two, I really enjoy my chair and TV for racing games. It’s just far more comfortable. Sure, I could hook my PC up to it and get the same effect, but at this point in time it’s not feasible. And three, I couldn’t find the PC version locally, just console versions. I could order it online but I got impatient.

      Plus, the online features don’t really appeal to me that much. I’d like to have them in case since it’s almost a requirement to play the game (it feels like it wants to be an MMO but isn’t quite there) but otherwise, I just don’t care that much. My internet connection is also very unstable, so it’s even less of a draw. I’ll still get the game for the PC, once it comes down in price some more. But for a first playthrough, 360 it is.

  3. Matthew says:

    AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
    Corsair H50 CPU Cooler
    Asus Crosshair Formula AMD 890FX Chipset
    nVidia Geforce GTX 285
    Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz (2x2GB) 4GB in total
    500GB Western Black
    Corsair TX 650W
    Cooler Master HAF 922

    I’m feeling a little performance problems running the Sims 3 and I think it’s my GPU which is slowing me down. I’m thinking about upgrading it soonish 🙂 What u think?

    • Well, that system is about 10 times faster than you need for TS3, so that should do it.

      • Matthew says:

        It’s running pretty smooth actually. Anyhow, would you mind going a Sims 3 test with the FPS “cheat” on? Simply just write fps on in the chat box and tell me what your fps is and whats your graphic settings are? Thanks 🙂

  4. Matthew says:

    It’s running pretty smooth actually. Anyhow, would you mind going a Sims 3 test with the FPS “cheat” on? Simply just write fps on in the chat box and tell me what your fps is and whats your graphic settings are? Thanks 😀

  5. Tina says:

    hey ya i love ur reviews i think thy r really good im getting a new desktop soon i was wondring which 1 2 get 2 ply the sims 3 on any advice m8 Xx

  6. Eduardo Alvarez says:

    Look my specs what you think? Windows 7 RAM 2GB Hard Disc: 320GB Intel Atom 1.66GHz – 1.67GHz im running Sims 3, Sims WorldAdventures, Sims Late Night. My question is can i change Detail Settings Sim Detail “High” Visual Effects “High”at Option Panel? Which pc you recomend me to buy to run all this stuff?. I hope you can Help me. P.S I see your review about sims generations it rock

    • I doubt it’ll run very well with the CPU and, presumably, Intel graphics chipset. I’d just stick to whatever settings run the best for you. As for what I recommend, well, I don’t know. You can see what I have above, so I guess I’d recommend something comparable if you want a nice PC for games 😀

  7. Dylan Malkin says:

    I was just wondering will this system run most new/old games on max graphics?
    AMD Athlon™II X4 645 Quad-Core CPU @ 3.1GHz
    4GB (2x2GB) PC10666 DDR3 RAM
    AMD Radeon HD 6450 1GB GDDR3?
    Thanks.

  8. Jeremiah Norris says:

    I like your reviews and thought I’d share that I have:

    AMD Sempron 2.8 Ghz 1.0 MB Cache
    Biostar A770E3
    2GB RAM(1x2GB) I will get more ram after I get a new power supply.
    ATI radeon HD 2600 Pro
    20 GB IDE/PATA HDD(OS) & 1TB SATA HDD(Data)

  9. AMD Phenom II 970BE @ 3.9Ghz
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
    2 Gigabyte AMD 6850 in crossfire
    2x4gb Corsair XM3 @ 1333mhz
    Thermalake 700w psu
    Western Digital 1tb Caviar Black
    Cooler Master HAF-X AMD edition
    and some Cooler Master heatsink that very large.

    I noticed that everyone that has posted their specs; all seem to AMD cpus.

  10. Your reviews are in depth and helpful! Here are my specs:
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.34Ghz
    NVIDIA nForce 720i MCP
    EVGA 01G-P3-1450-TR GeForce GTS 450 FPB 1GB Video Card
    8GB DDR2 SDRAM RAM 1333 MHz
    Ultra LSP550 550-Watt Power Supply
    640 GB 7200RPM SATA HDD + 1TB Western Digital SATA HDD
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

    Looks like I’m the first Intel! What’s with all the AMD processors? I bought this computer at Best Buy a few years ago. All I added was a new graphics card that replaced the stock NVIDIA GeForce GT 120.

    • I can only speak for myself, but AMD is freaking awesome because they provide exceptional price/performance ratio. More than enough bang for my buck. The motherboards are also a LOT less expensive than Intel boards when building a system, and I’m almost always low on cash.

      • This is in my opinion true – but only up to the Phenom II/Athlon II generation. Those new Bulldozer are actually in many cases slower (esp. for gaming) than the II generation, because Bulldozer is made for heavy multi-threading (server applications). And most of them aren’t even better than midrange Core i5s, especially for gaming.
        An Intel Core i5-3350P (P=no CPU-graphics) costs less than a FX-8150 and uses only a maximum of ~70W instead of ~125W. The prices of motherboards are about equal – at least here in Germany.

  11. Kelly Tran says:

    Looks difficult to make :\

  12. Someone says:

    AMD Athlon II X2 245 2.90GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 (On board and busted, now use the 3D one below)
    ATi Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
    Some random ECS EliteGroup motherboard
    Approx. 460GB SATA HDD
    Some unbranded case I do not know of
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit (sad, but true)
    2GB RAM

  13. honeythediva says:

    Hi, would u recommend me a Great PC to buy not MAC please to have Sims 3 run great and not laggy?? I need ur reply! BTW, i subscribed u on Youtube & follow u on twitter!! Hope u will reply!

    • Well, I don’t buy PCs, I build my own. I really don’t have anything I’d recommend, because I wouldn’t use a pre-built PC myself. Just make sure it meets the recommended system requirements and you should be fine.

      • honeythediva says:

        Ohhh wow i see… Ok still thanks!! ;]

      • bluehaze says:

        First off I admire the work you put into all your reviews and I watch them before buying a Sims 3 game. I am curious to know do you build computers to sell to other as well. I have always wanted to have an amazing com just for all my PC games and your computer performance is just wow. One last thing are there any laptops you would recommend or specs for them to splay the numerous amounts of expansion packs of Sims 3?

      • Thank you kindly! I’ve helped friends build PCs before, but never really done so as a service or anything. I don’t mind giving some basic tips on parts though, if I can. As for a laptop, I can’t say I’d really recommend them for gaming at all. I’m sure there are some out there nowadays that do just fine, but they’re in general much more expensive than a similar desktop configuration, and without the ability to upgrade anything but the RAM/HDD capacity. Supposedly Asus, Razer, and Battalion make some decent gaming laptops, but I don’t have any experience with them. The Battalion 101 X7200 may be a good place to start.

  14. Zgames55 says:

    Laptop Specs:

    2.1 GHz Pentium B950 dual core
    4GB DDRIII 1333 RAM 2X2
    500GB 5400R SATA
    Nvidia Geforce Gt 520M with PhysX and DirectX11
    Window 7 Home Premium (64 bit)

    Subscribe to you on your youtube channel because it’s great 😀

  15. Tom Fayter says:

    Hi 🙂
    I am experiencing problems when attempting to run The Sims Medival, it crashes every time i try to load it. I can run The Sims 3 on high settings but cannot run The Sims Medieval at all. Do you know what the problem is??
    Specs:
    512MB ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT AGP
    2.00 GB DDR RAM
    2.80 Intel Xeon Dual Core
    391GB Seagate ST3400832A
    Windows XP Professional 32-bit
    Thanks!…

  16. Ykai says:

    hehe, i have no problem with what ever game i want to play x)

    i7 2600
    8GB DDR3 1333MHZ RAM
    Radeon HD 7850 2GB
    1TB western digital caviar black
    Coolermaster HAF 922
    ASUS p8z68-v LE
    OCZ ZS series 750W

    haha, yeah this build is pretty much new new neeeew

    And oh.. i love the brutal raw looks of the HAF 922 o_o

    Latest game i played was crysis warhead.. on enthusiast.. looks epic runs fine hehe

  17. Kin6x says:

    See, this has me confused.. My machine equals yours in some aspects and in others doubles it (not bragging or anything like some others here), but the issue is I STILL lag.. Granted I have about 800mb of mods, but even on a fresh install with no mods I still lag a tiny bit. Running it on XP though, do you think it might do alittle better on Win 7? Because im about to install it on another partition just for Sniper Elite V2 and was wondering if I should go through the trouble of the Sims install too.

  18. MainProof says:

    ATI Radeon HD 6700 Series 1gb ddr5
    AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
    3072MB RAM
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

    it lagg’s a lot but i have all expansions what should i upgrade? :s

  19. MetallicRat says:

    I’ve got a few of questions about your Antec case
    1.How much did it cost?
    2.How’s the cable management?
    3.What are some of your other opinions on that case?
    I’m a first time PC builder and I really want to keep within a budget of $700.

    • 1. It cost $80 at the time, but you can find it for $60 now.
      2. Cable management tends to depend on the PSU. A modular cable system will help a lot, but there’s plenty of extra space in the Three Hundred, I’ve got no issue with it.
      3. I love the look of the case and it’s quite roomy with nice airflow. Be sure to get another set of 120mm fans for the front and rear of the case to keep airflow smooth. My complaints are that the inside has some sharp edges, and the front USB/audio inputs are a pain because of how close they are to the top 5.25″ bay. Cables hanging down from this area tend to fall in front of the bays. Also, the front audio ports are very noisy, but this may vary by case.

      • MetallicRat says:

        Thanks. This helped very much on deciding on a case. Being a first time builder, some of the options can be very overwhelming to say the least :).

  20. Matthew Dunlop says:

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    8GB DDR2-5300
    750GB Seagate SATA
    ATI Radeon HD 3850 256MB PCI-E
    Windows Vista Ultimate x64
    27″ Viewsonic VA2702W

  21. acid2139 says:

    im stuck with sims 2 as my pc is an old boy
    512mb ram
    250gb sata harddrive
    p4 2.94GHz processor
    PNY gforce 5600 256 agp
    and a crappy 19inch philips 170c
    but she is my baby and i love her

  22. Sam says:

    hey how much did it cost you LGR for all the components of your PC?

  23. DMK :D says:

    OMG! Your PC is like more than 10 times better than my(if we look at RAM) And how I see in your reviews it’s running just like my, no problems 😀

  24. gnomebolt123 says:

    Intel i5 2500k quad core 4.2 ghz (Overclocked)

    8gb memory 2133 mhz (Overclocked)

    90gb Cosair ssd

    1.5tb 7200 rpm Western digital Caviar black hard drive

    Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 Evga 4gb graphics card

    Asus Maximus IV GENE-Z motherboard

  25. angrydragon114 says:

    i have that same case

  26. onurubu says:

    whats the price of of building a PC like yours

  27. Prussianrooster says:

    cpu: amd phenom II x4 965 BE 3.4ghz
    gpu: amd radeon 7770 asus 2 gb
    motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 r1.1 ATX
    case: antec three hundred ATX
    memory: 8 gb(2×4) corsair vengeance 1600 mhz
    hdd: western digital blue 1 tb
    os: win 7 ultimate
    psu: coolermaster 700 watt lite

    will this system run far cry 3 on atleast high? i like your reviews, and saw the far cry 3 one, so i planned on getting it, will it run it on high and maybe ultra?

    • NelizMastr says:

      Depends on your screen. On a 1680×1050 or 1920×1080 panel, high on FC3 will be very playable, but Ultra is a bit too much, as long as your 7770 is a Ghz Edition.

  28. Cooper McKay says:

    My specs:
    AMD Phenom II x6 1055T 2.8 Ghz @ 3 ghz
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660Ti 2 GB
    Asus M4N68T
    OCZ Platinum DDR3 1333MHz 4GB
    90 GB OCZ SSD (OS) 1TB western digital (Storage)
    Sound Blaster Xfi Xtremegamer
    OCZ Fatal1ty 550w Modular PSU
    Rosewill (Newegg) Xcruiser midtower
    Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit

  29. LazyGuyThingy says:

    Lenovo Intel Dual CPU
    782 MHz
    1.86 GHz
    .99 GB of RAM (I THINK IT FROZE)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2002 SP2

  30. LazyGuyThingy says:

    My Specs:
    Windows 7 Home Edition SP1
    6.00GB RAM
    6GB Storage Space
    Intel HD Graphics Card

    I run SimCity and i have terrain issues and it could be the game or graphics card HELP ME!!!

    • prussianrooster says:

      Well actually you don’t have a gfx card, intel hd is integrated, and very bad for gaming, though if you are on a desktop you could buy a good gfx card and put it in your pc.

  31. pasci234 says:

    My Specs:
    Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
    AMD fx-8150 (4.2Ghz)
    corsair vengeance 32gb (1866mhz) RAM
    5x 1tb western digital HDD
    crucial 64gb SSD
    2x AMD 7950 (msi 7950 twin frozr)
    ASUS sabretooth r.2.0

  32. MisteryT says:

    I have an asus 7870 OC’d 2 GB and a dual core CPU. And it’s bottlenecking me hard. And in summer I’m getting a new CPU, RAM and a motherboard. And so im curious on what CPU to get! I’m thing of FX-8350 and i5 3570k so with what CPU I should go with that’ll be good for future gaming too. I head that i5 3570k is better than fx-8350 at single-threaded tasks, single core performance, and less power efficent… Or else you can recommend me an another good gaming CPU that I should buy. Thanks 🙂

  33. pasci234 says:

    MisteryT,
    I went for the AMD fx-8150 because of cost (at least here in the Netherlands) but the i5 provides superior gameplay at a far reduced power usage (especially when overclocking), however the AMD provides better multi-tasking (at a lower per core performance). If it’s gaming you want an AMD Phenom series would also work ( at a lower cost I celieve). That said most CPU’s in this part of the markrt are (relatively) high-end and the difference isn’t that noticeable

  34. Syliss says:

    I have an Athlon 64 x2 4800+ @2.4Ghz, 2GB of RAM, and an Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX.

  35. Bathory says:

    Welp, I guess it’s time for me to get a better PC.
    I can’t really check my exact specs as I’m not on my computer at the moment, but I presume it falls into the lower tier with it’s 2 core 3.2 GHz processor, 512 MB graphic card (from NVidia Point of View series, I believe. That’s the next thing I’m replacing), 2GB of RAM, 80GB hard drive at 5400rpm + 320GB external one for storage (ordered yesterday Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 7200rpm, so the 80GB one should be gone soon) aand, that’s about it. That’s my custom built PC. I’ve got no idea which motherboard I have, but it supports everything I might buy during the next 2 years.
    I got this one about 2 years ago, my budget was around $200 and that was the best I could get (considering I live in Croatia). I’ll probably have something similar to your current specs by the end of 2018, LGR. I’m looking forward to that.

  36. cooper mckay says:

    My Specs:
    Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
    AMD fx-8350 oc’ed(4.5Ghz)
    corsair vengeance 16gb RAM
    1tb western digital HDD
    ocz 90gb SSD
    2x Nvidia GeForce GTX 660 TI SLI
    ASUS sabretooth r.2.0
    27″ 120 hz Samsung monitor @1080p

  37. DTM says:

    I know this may seem like a dumb question but i’m not really a computer person. Did you customize your PC? From your reviews you seem like the type to make your own computers or at least heavily customize them. Thanks!

  38. BigEarsCross says:

    My Specs:
    I7 3820 @ 4.0 GHZ (Liquid cooled)
    8GB DDR3 1600MHz
    1TB 7200 RPM Western Digital hard drive
    1 galaxy GTX 770 2GB GDDR5 (plan to sli by the end of this month)
    875 Watt 80 Plus silver PSU
    1 Samsung sync master 60hz monitor 1920x1080p

  39. Lola says:

    Acer Aspire V3-771G:
    Intel Core i7-3630QM
    2.4GHz – 6MB
    Screen 17.3” HD LED CB
    Memory 8GB DDR3 / 2TB SATA Drive
    GeoForce Nividia 730M – 4GB dedicated
    Windows 8 Basic
    isn’t good enough ?? i really want to play the sims 3 (-_-)

  40. mcdovin says:

    My Current Specs

    Processor: AMD Phenom X3 8650 Triple-Core ~2.4GHz OC
    Memory: 4096MB DDR2 RAM
    Video Card: MSI Radeon HD 6670 GDDR3 2 GB
    Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-CM
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit/Windows 8 Professional 64 bit

    Hard Drives:
    Seagate ST3160812A 160GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
    Seagate 400GB SATA 8MB ST3400832AS 7200 RPM
    Seagate Barracuda 1 TB HDD 7200 RPM
    Fujitsu MHY2120BH 120 GB 5400 RPM
    Hitachi IC35L060AVV207-0 40GB 7200 RPM

    Power Supply: TWO (300W & 450W) Generic

    Monitor(s):
    Samsung SyncMaster 941BW 19-inch Widescreen LCD
    LG L206WTQ 20-inch Widescreen LCD

    Peripherals
    Keyboard:Dell SK-8115/Logitech Cordless Internet Pro
    Mouse: Dragon War Leviathan Gaming Laser Mouse
    Controller: Wired Xbox 360 White

    Recording Equipment:
    Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR
    Avid Technology Dazzle DVD Recorder

    Microphone:
    Turtle Beach X12
    Logitech USB Microphone

  41. jason says:

    Is 2.6 GHz and 6 gb of RAM enough to handle Sims 3 with all of its expansions?

  42. Jane says:

    What type of computer do you use? 🙂

  43. Liam says:

    Case
    FRACTAL DESIGN ARC MIDI R2 MID-TOWER CASE

    RAM:
    32gb Corsair Vengence

    Processor (CPU)
    AMD FX-9590 Eight Core CPU (4.7GHz-5.0GHz/16MB CACHE/AM3+)

    Motherboard
    ASUS® SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 (DDR3, USB3.0, 6Gb/s, CrossFireX/Sli)

    Memory (RAM)
    16GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (2 x 8GB)

    Graphics Card
    3GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 780 – 2 DVI, HDMI, DP – 3D Vision Ready

    Memory – 1st Hard Disk
    960GB CRUCIAL M500 SSD, SATA 6 Gb/s (upto 500MB/sR | 400MB/sW)

    2nd Hard Disk
    1TB 3.5″ SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 32MB CACHE

  44. Mohamed Amirullah says:

    My Current Specs
    Processor: Intel Core i7-3820
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB Dual Channel 1866Mhz
    Video Card: Asus DCUII GTX670 TOP
    Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 Pro
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
    Hard Drives:
    Seagate 500GB
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    2x 160GB Seagate
    Power Supply: CM M2 Silent Pro 850W
    Monitor(s):
    Philips 191EL
    Dell u2412m
    Peripherals
    Keyboard:Microsoft Digital Media Pro Keyboard
    Mouse: Corsair Vengeance m95 Arctic White
    Controller: Wireless Xbox 360 gamepad
    Chasis:
    CM HAF-X Nvidia edition

  45. Iguy says:

    Same motherboard man, except I’ve got a newer revision (4.0)
    I have a amd fx-6350 overclock to 4.6ghz cooled by a cooler master hyper T4
    8gb of G.skill Ripjaws X ram @ 1866mhz
    Asus radeon 7870 2gb
    120gb SSD samsung 840
    1tb western digital blue HDD
    Corsair TX650M power supply
    and the case is a phantom 410

    my first PC build 😛
    if I could redo it I would have picked a better GPU but the 7870 is just fine for me.

