SimCity “School Edition” – Video and Extra Info

Friday, April 22nd, 2011

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0grXTLQA%5D

As a follow-up to a previous blog entry, I’ve posted a video of the SimCity School Edition Lab Pack!

As I theorized, this edition of SimCity Classic comes with the regular game but lots of teacher’s aides as well. The Educational Software Toys catalog is a really cool bonus and is something I’ve never even heard of before, so I was totally freaking out internally when I ran across it. “Maxis School Bus” FTW.

I also really find the bland disk labels particularly interesting. Just because it’s educational doesn’t mean it has to be so sterile! I mean, seriously, this was a more expensive version of the game and yet it’s got crappy labels. Awesome. And I didn’t show this in the video, but the disks themselves are of notably lower quality than the retail game’s. Disk number one got stuck in two differing Macintosh machines I tried, due to the cheap metal door which was almost coming off completely after only one use!

The whole package really reeks of cheapness… cheap packaging, cheap disks, cheap labels, cheap quality paper manual, including the DOS version of the addendum instead of the Mac version, etc. Maybe the fact that this was likely from the late 1996 Maxis had something to do with it. After all, cheapness and heightened production was the way things were for many of their games at that point. I’d like to find an educational version from around 1993 to compare.

Another note: I was going to review Putt Putt Goes To The Moon but I simply could not locate the game. I know I have it, I frigging know I do, but it just did not present itself. Shouldn’t have waited so long to look for it, ran out of time, so I went to Plan B. I’ll review it some other time, because it’s actually pretty awesome.

2 comments on “SimCity “School Edition” – Video and Extra Info

  1. […] = 'simprograms';Our favorite Lazy Game Reviewer takes a look at the SimCity Education Version, which is a special teacher’s edition of the […]

  2. Sam says:

    Putt-Putt Goes to the Moon! I remember being the first person in my second grade class to beat that game! Awesome choice, LGR!

Leave a Reply

