The Stanley Parable

Tuesday, August 9th, 2011

The Stanley Parable - An Experimental Weird Narrative Simulation Thing

Download it and play it NOW.

Easily one of the most innovative and unique things I’ve played in years. Not even really a game, it’s just an awesome interactive experience. So meta. It’s only about 6 or 7 minutes long each time you play, but wow, those minutes are pure gold. There are multiple “endings”, so keep trying again to see what the balls else may happen. It’s well worth it.

This is an exceptionally well-produced mod for Half-Life 2, so just download it and install it to your Steam mods folder and you’re ready to go. It will download the files needed to play it if you’re on a PC, you don’t need the full HL2 game installed. I think you do on a Mac though.

6 comments on “The Stanley Parable

  1. 2ball says:

    Hopefully this wil be “good fun”. Tiny little games that offer lots of fun without to much effort are simply quite awsome.

  2. xaromir says:

    Less innovative than thought provoking. I like it, it’s an art game.

    • Anymore these days, if any thought other than “SHOOT MOVING THING, DUCK BEHIND COVER” runs through my mind it’s arguably innovative 😀
      But yeah, calling it an art game would probably be more accurate.

  3. Jasper says:

    Yeah it’s an art game. But a fun one…I love it when you have no idea what you’re doing. I hope games will be more like that in the future. Like Amnesia or Limbo. Gonna try some different options in the game now, see if it gets more exciting…. 😉 Thanks for the tip LGR!

  4. LORD MJ says:

    I know I’m kinda late with the comment here, but I just didn’t have time to play the game until now.

    I think that it’s a really interesting game. Well, I don’t know if I can call it game, but it’s definitely interesting.

    I was actually excepting to see a lot of environment interaction. But instead, I’ve seen a lot of story interaction, and that is better.

    It’s really interesting to see how choices impact on a story. And I really wish that there were more mods and games made this way.

    Most game today, push for better graphics and gameplay mechanics. I don’t say that is bad, but many forget that story IS what makes a game an enjoyable experience.

    Games with epic story telling and NPCs that are almost lifelike in terms of emotions and feelings ARE the games that we mostly remember.

Leave a Reply

