Covox Speech Thing LPT DAC overview video is online

Friday, September 16th, 2011

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0gtOnXQA width=”480″ height=”270″]

The second video in the LGR Oddware series, hope you enjoy!

7 comments on “Covox Speech Thing LPT DAC overview video is online

  1. nerka99 says:

    “another episode”… when was 1st episode marked as “ODDWARE”?

  2. Gemini says:

    The very first song you played in Inertia Player was one of my favourites back when I was making games in Megazeux. ; )

    One game off the top of my head that sounds pretty good with the Covox DAC, at least in DOSBox, is Line Wars II, which is freeware now so shouldn’t be too hard to get. (Heck, Patrick Aalto, the game’s creator has it right on his website!)

    Don’t quote me on this, but I think you’re right in that the Covox DAC mostly appealed to the demoscene and module tracking, since that was stuff where you absolutely needed digitzed sound, and until the Sound Blaster came about there weren’t really any other viable options for digitzed sound in DOS.

    • Awesome, I’ll have to try that one out. Haven’t seen it listed under any of the “Speech Thing Compatible” lists I’ve come across, but that’s not surprising. I’m thinking of just creating my own list since most of those I’ve seen are either very incomplete or quite inaccurate – confusing DSS or Sound Master games instead. So if you happen to run across any more games that list the CST as an option, I’d highly appreciate it!

  3. Jasper says:

    I just recently found out that Pinball Fantasies is made by former Demo Scene members (the Silents). It explains the style of the graphics and of course the (mod) music…

  4. Kevin Dady says:

    funny, I have the parts to make one of these in the mail right now, just a pile of 0.05% tolerence resistors, and I think thats overkill (considering the time when these things were made) , though I made one a while back with normal 5% resistors, and it would garble the output (a little, but annoying)

  5. Nick says:

    To get a few more games to use the the Covox, you might want to check out vsb and temu.
    http://tinyurl.com/4ysxuq2
    Vsb is a “virtual sound blaster” driver that allows a fair number of games to use the covox for playing back sound blaster digital sound, and temu is a Tandy sound emulator, but also says it gives you Disney Sound Source compatibility. You might also want to check out Remus, the universal sound card emulator, but I’ve never had luck with it: http://tinyurl.com/43nl9fg

Leave a Reply

