Vintage Computer Pickups video is online – Sound & Video Cards, MSX2

Saturday, November 19th, 2011

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0gt74KgA width=”440″ height=”248″]

Due to effects “suffered” from playing almost 80 hours of Skyrim in the past week, my video creation time has dwindled to darned low levels. This is okay by me, because seriously, Skyrim is so freaking good that I don’t mind.

Anyways, this is a pickups/haul video of sorts. Some seriously radical stuff has been sent to me recently and these are the highlights I’m covering in this video. Sound cards, video cards, other cards, an MSX2, games, magazines, etc. Just fantastic vintage gaming loot that I’m extremely grateful for! I’ll be showing more of this stuff on LGR in the future, but for now this is just kind of a “thank you” to the guys who sent this stuff and a proclamation that this stuff exists.

17 comments on “Vintage Computer Pickups video is online – Sound & Video Cards, MSX2

  1. Max says:

    So, will there be any videos showing the early 3D acceleration stuff? πŸ™‚

  2. Gemini says:

    One of my original Pentium 120 systems has a Cirrus Logic video card in it with 1 MB of video RAM. It actually functions really well and it’s nice being able to play Moraff’s World at 1024×768 256c on it. : )

    I have to admit though, I kinda skipped the first era of 3D-accelerated PC gaming. I jumped from a P/120 with no hardware acceleration to a P3/600 with a Voodoo 3 video card.

    • A lot of people did. I know it wasn’t until Quake 3 that a lot of my friends finally decided to go with a 3D accelerator, if only because Q3 freaking REQUIRED one to run at all! Otherwise, software rendering was still rather viable for games up to that point.

  3. Shagittarius says:

    Hey, I was lead tester (actually the only tester) on Quarantine for both the PC and 3DO back in the day. It was a really cool game that I don’t think saw the success it deserved (And I didn’t see the royalty points I deserved either =)) If you like it dont miss out on Road Warrior which is the sequel to it and in my opinion superior to the original in every way.

    A little tip, I don’t remember if this works on the PC version but on the 3d version I found a bug where if you cycle through your weapons while holding down fire you can fire every weapon simultaneously. I liked the bug so much I convinced them to keep it in, it was a feature for sure. This can be invaluable as its much quicker to destroy enemies with multiple gun going on.

    I hope you enjoy it, and I’m looking forward to your critique.

    • That is awesome! Wasn’t aware Road Warrior was the sequel, but I’ve certainly heard of it and had it recommended to me here and there. Cool to know about the bug/feature, I’ll be giving that a try for sure.

      • Gemini says:

        I actually knew about Road Warrior before Quarantine, so when I first found out about Quarantine, I thought it was a sequel, then I learned Road Warrior was the sequel and I was like WTF?! ; D

        I’ve only played the demo version of Road Warrior. It’s kinda like a cross between Carmageddon and Streets of Sim City, but with really crazy mission objectives. You will definitely like it. ; )

      • Shagittarius says:

        I meant to reply to Gemini but couldn’t; glad you played the demo for Road Warrior, I had just been promoted to producer and the first thing I did was to have Gametek release a demo for that game and redesign the box. The original box was terrible it was a photograph of a desert road. the redesign was nice. Unfortunately even with those changes to it I don’t think it sold very well.

        I could only find this image of the redesigned box art:

  4. Zabeus says:

    Amazing hardware! Thanks for showing us. I’m really looking forward to the MSX review as I love old Japanese computers. Enjoy Skyrim. (not sure what all the the hype is about since I haven’t played any TES games, but know what it’s like to get lost in a game)

  5. Awesome stuff you got there — those MSX ones especially (I *love* King’s Valley II!). If you ever get a chance, be sure to play other Konami classics such as Penguin Adventure and The Maze of Galious.

  6. Kevin Dady says:

    Info about mystery cards

    6:50: If I were a betting man, I would guess that is a controller for a handheld scanner similar to the logitech scan man .. I used to have a clone back in the day… its not S-Video for sure because S video is a 4 pin connector, and that is an 8 pin connector, which hand held scanners also used (and in the PC world virtually unheard of, though in mac land its used for the serial ports)

    8:56: its just some capacitors … 30$ no more like 30 cents on digikey and super easy to replace if you can solder, get some numbers off of them and shoot me an email I will find you some appropriate replacements, and if you can not solder shoot me an email and I will do it for you for the cost of mail

    Keep up the good work!

  7. renegade1990 says:

    I have like 15 Tridents on ISA slot, and they are truly amazing.
    For old office machines they do the job just fine.
    Although if I had original OEM cards I would prefer to use them, but up here is impossible to find any.

  8. Old Thrashbarg says:

    The first unknown card is probably just a generic IRDa board. It could be some sort of a scanner controller, as Kevin said above, but those were basically just modified IR boards anyhow.

    For that unknown sound card, the ceramic caps (orange-ish disk thingies) are probably still OK even though they’re a bit chipped, and the one squished electrolytic at the top shouldn’t be too hard to replace. Probably a 10uF/16V or something similar.

    With regards to the IBM Mwave cards… you said that none of your similar cards have ever worked well, but if you take the crappiest one out of all those, and imagine it about 10x worse, then you’re getting somewhere close to the epic suck of the Mwave. Those things were so terrible that there was actually a class-action lawsuit brought over them, and IBM had to offer replacement cards. They’re an interesting piece of history to have, but save your sanity and don’t try to actually use one.

    You were right the first time on the Trident card: 1MB. They use 256kx4 chips… 256 kilobit by 4 bit, makes one megabit per chip, eight one megabit chips add up to one megabyte. And, BTW, the Trident cards were pretty well known to be amongst the slowest VGA cards ever made, alongside Oak Technologies. They can’t even be compared to an ET4000, but even mediocre cards like Cirrus were far faster. Hell, even that Realtek card is probably quite a bit better. The Trident cards do have their place… they’re plentiful and will work with just about anything… but they’d be my last choice for putting in a DOS gaming system.

    • Great info, thanks for the update on these! That’s the thing about unscripted, off-the-cuff videos covering so many devices. When I’m only slightly familiar with some of them, it’s up to the viewers to sort out my factual mess πŸ˜€

  9. Sam Townsend says:

    The second card you showed is for people who have an older/non-standard Sony CD drive.

    If you didn’t have a sound card, you would connect both the ribbon cable (for data) and the 4-pin audio cable (for audio) to the drive and this card. Back in those days, the 4-pin cable was necessary because CD audio was not carried digitally over the ribbon cable — this was an extra feature your drive and your driver had to support. You could then plug in speakers to the 3.5mm jack to get CD audio without a sound card.

    You could also use this with a sound card that lacks support for the non-standard Sony drive by plugging the ribbon cable into this card and the 4-pin audio cable to your sound card. Then it would work just like any normal CD drive.

  10. Sam Townsend says:

    My guess for the first unknown card is that it could be a serial port. Every Mac starting with the Plus had those 8-pin ports until the iMacs came out. I have no idea, however, what you would plug into it that would work on a PC.

Leave a Reply

