Trying to fly the A2A Spitfire Mk 1a video is online

Tuesday, January 17th, 2012

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0gufOfQA width=”440″ height=”244″]

I recently realized I finally have a PC powerful enough to run Microsoft Flight Simulator X without much slowdown. I freaking love flight sims, but it’s always been a pain to run them! As a result, I’ve been looking at some of the more awesome add-ons for FSX, and ran across the A2A Simulations Supermarine Spitfire with Accu-Sim.

This video is just messing around in FSX, attempting to fly A2A’s Wings of Power 3: Spitfire without any prior knowledge. Just me, a plane, and a healthy serving of dumb. This is in no way representative of my flight simulation experience level, so please, you don’t need to let me know I don’t know what I’m doing. Being clueless is the entire point of this video, and it’s just a bit of fun!

8 comments on “Trying to fly the A2A Spitfire Mk 1a video is online

  1. Gemini says:

    …what did I just watch? 😄

  2. Xaromir says:

    I think you dumped your fuel actually. That’s what the blue stuff should have been i guess.

  3. Trixter says:

    Video quality is pretty good despite the game needing a heavy system. How do you record your Windows videos? FRAPS, or an external video capture rig?

    • I used FRAPS for this one, as I do most DirectX or OpenGL games. I’m looking for another solution for recording FSX though, since as you can see the frame rate take a pretty significant hit when using it. It’s not usually this bad with FRAPS, but the CPU load from FSX with add-on scenery cranked up to max and high-poly aircraft is already very heavy. I usually get anywhere from 30-50 fps while not recording.

      • Trixter says:

        External recording would require a second machine with something decent like a Blackmagic Design Intensity Shuttle. It might be more cost-effective to upgrade the storage you’re writing the FRAPS file to, as FRAPS doesn’t actually take too much CPU time on modern machines — it’s the I/O that kills you. For example, buy two identical hard drives and set them up in a RAID-0 stripe. You’ll get very decent write speeds to a device that isn’t sharing your programs/os/swap/etc.

        A cheaper speedup is to simply play the game in the resolution you are going to be editing with, and capture with FRAPS 1:1 (ie. don’t use the “half” or “quarter” modes). Maybe you should try your flight again at 1280×720 and see if it captures any smoother.

    • Yeah, see the thing is… I was actually recording to another internal SATA3 hard drive that is completely separate from both the game and the OS. I was also recording at my 720p editing resolution, so there was no half or quarter mode being used. I’ve been using this setup for a couple years and this is what I trust to be the best setup for my current hardware. With just about every other game it’s fine, with no noticeable performance drop. But with FSX it just lags.

      • Trixter says:

        If FRAPS is the sole cause of slowdown, then you’ll need a capture device. An Intensity Shuttle is $200, and has both HDMI in and out, however I’m not sure if it works like a “passthrough” device. If it doesn’t, you would hook it up via HDMI and play the game watching the video capture on the capture machine’s monitor.

      • That would certainly be ideal, though I simply lack the funds for such a thing right now. I’m looking into a couple such devices for the future, thanks for the tips on this one!

Leave a Reply

