Ikari Warriors – PC Booter Game Review

Friday, May 18th, 2012

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0gve_QwA width=”440″ height=”244″]

Arcade ports in the 80’s were very much hit and miss, often sacrificing extra graphics, sound, and controls. But rotary joysticks or not, Ikari Warriors for the PC is one manly good time.

Oh and yes, I am now a part of Retroware TV! Thanks to Pat, John, and the others there who have been in touch with me to make this happen. Check out their site for my retro-focused reviews in the future, as well as plenty of other fantastic retro gaming content!

Just to make one thing clear: videos are still going to be in the same places, just more places. Basically, it’s like how things are now, except with RWTV involved. Videos still go to Blip (and now RWTV) first, and then YouTube and everything soon after. Hooray for more exposure and such!

12 comments on “Ikari Warriors – PC Booter Game Review

  1. Jaap says:

    I never knew this version existed, but the MSX version is way better 😉

  2. Gemini says:

    I wasn’t a big fan of the rotary joysticks. I much preferred the dual-joystick setup of Smash TV. ; )
    .
    Your video has also reminded me that after 36 Season 2 episodes of Ancient DOS Games I STILL haven’t pulled up the Season 2 keyboard to show whacked-out keyboard controls. I just haven’t encountered any games lately with controls made of suck, so… *shrugs*
    .
    Also awesome that you’re up on Retroware TV now! : D

  3. Robert says:

    Your old review of Ikari Warriors REALLY must’ve been bugging you for you to do a remake. Good to see the “grenade Link” and Dip n’ Dots reference made it through, haha.

  4. Kevin Dady says:

    Love retroware TV, maybe you can also get hooked up with blistered thumbs, they are the SUCK for retro (unless you consider final fantasy games you can STILL buy at wallmart brand new “retro”)

    • Robert says:

      This is me just being a purist, but I’d prefer that LGR didn’t team up with Blistered Thumbs because of their psuedo-popular status — connections with Nostalgia Critic and whatnot. LGR seems more natural among the “underground” or niche scene or whatever you’d like to call it.

      But if Mr. Lazy chooses to be part of a bigger name, I won’t blame him.

  5. Richard says:

    I found you through Retroware TV and I am glad I did. I spent the last evening and this morning watching your old videos. I love that you review the 90’s Epic and 3D Realms games, my favorite time in computer gaming. I hope you do a full review of Tyrian, or maybe an overview of old Epic shmups.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you found me and are enjoying the videos! Yes, I plan on taking a look at Tyrian and other shmups sooner than later, as I’ve put it off for far too long already.

  6. someperson42 says:

    Nice intro music. AdLib Jukebox IIRC.

Leave a Reply

