Lemmings – DOS PC Game Review

Friday, August 3rd, 2012

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/h4t0gv_gRAA width=”440″ height=”244″]

Few games have been ported to as many systems and seen as many variants as DMA Design’s Lemmings. And it’s no wonder! There’s just something about trying to solve puzzles with suicidal rodents that’s incredibly satisfying.

5 comments on “Lemmings – DOS PC Game Review

  1. Zabeus says:

    Lemmings!
    Did you play the sequels? I actually started with Lemmings 2: The Tribes on SNES.
    I liked the part about how it came from a challenge to create a tiny pixel animated humanoid – and then smash him to bits. This inspires me in my own experimental game designs.

    “Let’s go!”

    • Never really gotten into the sequels too much. The Tribes changed a bit too much for my liking, but it wasn’t bad. Lemmings Revolution was quite interesting though, being a “3D” version of classic 2D Lemmings. Not the best puzzles, but interesting.

  2. Gemini says:

    You know what’s really crazy? The only Lemmings game I have any skill at… is the 3D one. XD
    .
    Then again, my first attempt to play Lemmings was back when I still didn’t know how to equip items in RPGs, so now that I’m older, I imagine if I tried the original Lemmings again I’d probably fare better. : P

  3. Michael Reed says:

    Interesting hearing the AdLib versions of those tunes. I played it on… Acorn Archimedes. Basically, the same as the Amiga version. Although, I seem to remember that the particle explosions were a tiny bit smoother. Both versions used a scanline split to change the palette for the icon area at the bottom of the screen, which seems to be missing on the PC version. Perhaps only having 16 colours total imposed some restrictions for the gameplay area of what is (I presume) basically a 16 colour game?

  4. MagikGimp says:

    I’m partial to the music on the Atari ST version but then I often am having grown up with it. Control on the ST is far from good however, especially on a game that requires as much precision as this one does although the graphics hold up what with it being a 16 colour game as mentioned by Michael. The original ST doesn’t have second mouse support so player 2 was forced to resort to using a joystick instead!

Leave a Reply

