LGR is now on Patreon!

Sunday, January 12th, 2014

LGR is now on Patreon!

LGR now has a campaign on Patreon! This is sort of like a Kickstarter for the show, but it’s more ongoing.

There’s a video on the page explaining more, as well as details on rewards, benefits, and other awesome stuff that will result if you decide to help out!

Thank you for the consideration and here’s to lots more LGR, however this goes 🙂

8 comments on “LGR is now on Patreon!

  1. Jeremy says:

    Hello.
    The Patreon project seems like a good idea. It goes to the audience directly and, as you said, avoids the pitfalls that YouTube has introduced.
    I had LGR as a “Favorite” on my Apple TV, but now the Apple TV informs me that the LGR podcast is no longer available in the Canadian iTunes Store. I tried to subscribe in iTunes on my Mac, but there are no videos. Is this a glitch, or have you pulled the feed from iTunes?

    • The iTunes thing is due to Blip.tv making some changes. I used their service to distribute my videos to iTunes. Without telling me, they’ve pulled all my videos from there. I’m working on getting this taken care of!

      • Jeremy says:

        Blip.tv pulled your videos? Why? The annoying thing for me is that I can’t tell my Apple TV to use a different RSS feed, so I can’t watch LGR on the big screen. Yes, it’s all about me. 🙂

      • Jeremy says:

        The LGR feed is available again on the Canadian iTunes store and the Apple TV. Yay!

  2. Jeremy says:

    Have you considered accepting Bitcoin donations? You could generate a unique Bitcoin address for each video you post, which would let you track the income per video. You’d just need to add the Bitcoin address (and, to be helpful, its QR code) to the end segment of your video, along with a message like “You can show your appreciation by donating at Bitcoin address “.
    Just a thought.

    • Nope, since I don’t use Bit Coin and I really don’t know anything about it. All I’ve heard is it seems to be very unstable in value.

      • Jeremy says:

        I recommend that you consider Bitcoin. Yes, Bitcoin is volatile, but overall its value is increasing. This means that any Bitcoin donations you receive will become more valuable over time. An easy way to start is to create an online Bitcoin wallet at blockchain.info. You can spend your Bitcoins at overstock.com and gyft.com. There are Bitcoin-to-USD exchanges, but they tend to be a much bigger hassle to use.
        Full disclosure: I am not affiliated with any of the companies I mentioned above. I’m just a Bitcoin user who wants to see Bitcoin succeed.

      • Nick Painter says:

        You can cash Bitcoin out immediately so it’s only as unstable as you want it to be (check out coinbase.com; They charge ~1% to convert to USD and are used by overstock.com for their Bitcoin processing). The Bitcoin open source protocol is as revolutionary as the internet. If not more. (I’m a computer scientist so I don’t make that statement lightly.. as I’m sure most of your audience is 8P ) I’d recommend learning about it if you get some spare time (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2CsJ2HMA2I should get you going). Anyway thanks for the great content!

Leave a Reply

